Transition Diary #6: Salt Cravings & Use it or Lose it. (Mild NSFW)

on

Just some adult language in here, not cursing or anything though. Just referring to some genitalia once again. Rather than me tagging it as NSFW every time. I think it would just be safer for everyone to assume that there is going to be a bit of NSFW in all of these future diaries.

Disclaimer: My transition reflects only my personal experience unless otherwise stated. All people are different, especially when it comes to transitioning. Some people are faster or slower than others, some see few changes at all. Do not read my diaries and expect the same results there are a lot of factors that goes into transitioning that can’t be accounted for.

I’m not shy when it comes to talking about sex. Sexuality is a normal and healthy thing and it should be talked about. Sex ed does a poor job of teaching people about sex so it’s really left to everyone else to fill in the blanks afterwards. Sex ed taught me that sex was the same as making a fire, each person is a stick and you rub on each other til woosh a flame appears. But it’s obviously not as crude as grinding on one another until it’s over. So if I can educate people with what I know that’s cool, and that’s less awkward questioning they have to give to someone else.

Alright, off the bat going to explain something I found out that I didn’t know was the case and it’s about penises while transitioning. While on r/AskTransgender over the past month I’ve learned a lot about transitioning that they don’t always tell you. One of them is that it is always mentioned that Estrogen and AntiAndrogens will eventually render your penis useless. You won’t be able to maintain an erection, ejaculate, you’ll become impotent, and your orgasms will function completely different.

Most of those are true except the erection one. Apparently it’s as simple as “Use it or lose it”. The penis is a muscle and when you have testosterone flowing you get no reason boners and morning wood and these are used to exercise your penis. When you transition to female you stop having morning wood(which btw I haven’t had any since I last mentioned it) and no reason boners (also haven’t had any). So this muscle weakens, it weakens so much that it’ll shrink, sometimes up to an inch, and getting or maintaining an erection can be painful.

To avoid this as a trans woman all you have to do is take your penis out for a walk about twice a week, but I’d recommend 3 times even if you aren’t feeling it. Twice keeps it working but 3 reduces the risk of prostrate cancer. But there is the mood issue. After a while on HRT your orgasms change and how you get off does too. I don’t think there is a change in technique, just keep pulling taffy, but mood becomes more important. I’ve read things where women will be in the mood then think about something negative and lose it.

My experiences would confirm this for me. I’ll be busy with some alone time and then I’ll get distracted or lose focus and instantly lose any erection I have. So at least for me there can’t be any distractions. As for things like full body orgasms, none yet but I feel like I’m inching there. Each week I feel less of the orgasm in it’s main zone and more everywhere else. It feels a bit more “wow” each week.

No changes in breasts yet, still have the buds and the whole breast is still sensitive but minimal to no growth. I haven’t noticed a change in shape. I am a bit large so it’ll take a while for fat to move.

One fun change though, something else no one told me about. Spironolactone makes you crave salt. It makes you pee more causing you to lose salt and electrolytes and then your body makes you crave more salt to replace what you lost. I’m not big on potato chips or pickles but I’m eating them more than ever. I actually have to be careful or I’ll finish off a tube of Pringles in one sitting.

I had more to talk about this week than I thought I would. But that’s it for now. If I experience any other changes or have more to talk about next week I’ll make sure to post. Thank you for reading, have a good week!

Leave a Reply

